Who's Who

Australia awarded for International Telecommunication Union support

Left: Houlin Zhao: ITU Secretary-General Middle: Dr Tobias Feakin: Australian Ambassador for Cyber Affairs Right: Brahima Sanou: Director of the ITU Telecommunication Development Bureau. Image courtesy of Australian Government

Australia has been recognised with an award for our substantial contribution to the development work of the International Telecommunication Union (ITU).

Australia was the only member state to receive an award, which was presented to the Australian Ambassador for Cyber Affairs, Dr Tobias Feakin, at the World Telecommunication Development Conference.

The conference is the meeting of the ITU Development Sector and takes place every four years, and was held in Buenos Aires in Argentina from 9 to 20 October 2017.

Australia has proudly supported the ITU Development Sector to enable growth and expansion of telecommunication and ICT services since the sector was established 25 years ago.

Australia’s annual contributions to the ITU support a diverse range of development activities, including improving spectrum management, building capacity to address cybersecurity challenges, improving ICT access and bridging the digital divide.

Australia’s support of the ITU and its predecessor dates back to 1878, and it has been an elected member of the ITU’s governing body, the ITU Council, since 1959.

Australia is committed to continuing its long standing relationship with the ITU and working collaboratively to promote social and economic development through facilitating access to technology.

Source: Australian Government

Most Popular

To Top